Touch screen very slow!

I have been playing with my Hestia Pi for a few months now, I’m not a programmer so learning how to customize OpenHab has been an interesting experience!

I’ve been using Node Red to control various light and blinds for a few years and find it much easier.

Anyway I’ve managed to setup daily timer/schedule for heating and hot water. Also have set a rule to automatically adjust the heating set-point depending on time of day. Although the only way to adjust the times or temperatures is via editing the rules files.
I have struggled to get OpenHab to display a graph of the temperature over the previous 24 hours so have used MQTT to get Node Red on another Pi to show a graph.

I’m sure I’ll work out these issues in the future.

Next on the list is the remote temperature sensors, planning on two of them, one upstairs and one downstairs. The idea being to set it up to use the downstairs one during the day and the upstairs one during the night.
Have just ordered a Sonoff TH16 to play with, seems to be a bit of info out there on how to set them up for this.

I have the OpenHab user interface working fine on my mobile etc. but I am having problems with the touch screen, it’s incredibly slow to respond! And often doesn’t respond at all.
The screen has picked up the touch on the screen as the icons change but takes an age for anything to happen, seems more of a problem when going to a different screen or waking it up from blank screen.
Any ideas how to get the screen more responsive?

Thanks
Liam

Hello Liam,

That would be the easiest way! Flash Tasmota firmware on it and use MQTT (HestiaPi being the broker-server) to communicate. Then set (a button on the UI and) a rule to decide which temp value is respected each time of the day.

It is still on our to do list.